Skip to content

Quorn Chicken Kiev

January 1, 2013

Happy New Year!

I wish I’d been better at keeping this blog up. Sorry about that – but here’s the first recipe of the New Year.

When I was growing up a meat eater, one of the first things I learned to ‘cook’ (aged about 9 or so, I guess) was Chicken Kiev. Ok, it involved unwrapping it and placing it on a baking tray, so it can’t really be called cooking … but it was food I prepared for myself, by myself. I believe I had it with oven chips and peas. But as I grew old, wizened and wise, I started to realise that Chicken Kievs from a packet are vile things made from battery chickens … and even if you don’t care about that,  they also taste like processed, watery meat and cheap butter. But the idea, I think, is pretty sound (apart from the meat!). After all, how far wrong can you go, stuffing something with garlic butter? So I decided to try doing a vegetarian version, with Quorn. To make the breadcrumb crust, I’d hoped to get some ready-made gluten free breadcrumbs from the local supermarket, but unfortunately, my dearest and I went to the wilds of East Yorkshire for Christmas and the supermarkets nearby weren’t particularly up on gluten free stuff. I did get some bread though. “Yes You Can” wholemeal, to be precise – and it worked fine. We had no blender in the rented cottage, so it was knife work all the way … which coeliacs will know can be tricky with gluten free bread. The bread can become pulpy and stuck together in little doughballs … but this stuff worked fine. I’d recommend it. It’s got a nice nutty flavour. But the verdict from Yesh is that Genius Mulitseeded is still the best.

So here we go. My recipe for Quorn Kievs.

Not mine. Who has a camera when noshing? Copyright BBC Good Food.

Ingredients

6 x Quorn fillets, defrosted

25-30g butter (we used goat butter)

1 x clove garlic, crushed

2 x slices gluten free bread, crumbed

1 x egg, beaten

Fresh rosemary, chopped small

Salt & Pepper

Method

  1. Pre-heat the oven to 200˚C
  2. Slice the defrosted fillets carefully from the side, making a pocket
  3. Mix the garlic with the butter and divide into 6 small knobs. Put each knob into each fillet pocket
  4. Mix the chopped rosemary, salt and pepper with the breadcrumbs and mix well
  5. Dip each Quorn fillet into the beaten egg until coated, then dip into the breadcrumb mix until well covered. I found this difficult – the breadcrumbs didn’t stick particularly well – but as long as there’s a good enough coat, it’s fine.
  6. Place on a baking tray and bake in the oven for 20 mins, or until the breadcrumbs are golden and crispy
  7. Devour

I served these with parsnips, potatoes, shallots, peppers and tomatoes – all roasted – and boiled kale.

Ok – but I have to be honest. I thought they were great – but Yesh thought some of them a little dry. To combat that – add more buttery goodness, cook the smaller ones for less time … and I might suggest adding a sauce of some kind – perhaps sweet pepper, or mushroom. However, I didn’t think they were dry at all – especially as the roasted veg provided a flavoursome juice all their own. So the choice is yours.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

